25 Things in 25 Years

One of my many many goals for 2016 involves writing more than just the everyday general update on our lives here in Missouri. I really want to venture more into blogging and dig into it a little deeper. Fun posts. Pinterest experiences. Advice. Opinions. Reviews. DIY’s and recipes. We will see where the wind takes me! My thought behind this goal is that by the end of 2016 I will have a better idea of what works, what doesn’t. What I enjoy writing and doing, and what people enjoy reading.

So, without further ado, my first little fun post of 2016! Coupled with the fact that I am half way through my 25th year, and it is hard to believe I am going to be closer to 30 than I am closer to 21 by the end of the year, I figured I would spread some wisdom of things I have learned in my Generation Y life. 🙂 By no means am I an expert at giving advice, and by no means can I give you a guarantee that life with dramatically change if you follow these 25 things. But, what I can say is that, I have learned every single thing from experience at least!

  1. Get everything in writing.
  2. Never count on money not in your pocket.
  3. Don’t give up exercising- ever.
  4. When it comes to your wardrobe- buy statement pieces in small quantities.
  5.  Never buy a car you don’t love.
  6. Don’t be afraid to major in something simply because of course requirements, forecasted job outlooks etc.
  7. With that said… don’t be afraid to switch majors no matter how close you are to graduation.
  8. Find a hobby and keep a hobby.
  9. Figure out how to cook at least one really good meal.
  10. Don’t be in a rush to move out of mom and dads.
  11. Pay attention to and listen to the negative feelings and thoughts towards some one you are dating. With that said, also listen to other peoples negative feelings and thoughts.
  12. Don’t be in a rush to give your heart away, or do so too easily.
  13. Always be nice- to everyone.
  14. Travel. Travel. Travel.
  15. Listen to the unpopular music. Watch the odd movies.
  16. Learn how to do the “manly” things around the house.
  17. Watch a little news and find at least one cause you truly care about.
  18. Spend time with the girls.
  19. Always count on the fact that you can’t count on anything- except change. That is the one thing you can count on.
  20. There is always always always two sides to everything.
  21. Family is ultimately the most important thing in life- the family you were born into, the family you were given, the family you chose… either way, it all boils down to family.
  22. You are entitled to absolutely nothing in this life.
  23. Never give up on things.
  24. Optimism and kindness truly go a long way.
  25. In the words of the great philosopher, Kid Rock, “You get what you put in, and people get what they deserve.”

“We don’t receive wisdom; we must discover it for ourselves after a journey that no one can take for us or spare us. ” Marcel Proust

2 thoughts on “25 Things in 25 Years

Leave a Reply

