In The Unlikely Event

For whatever reason this last week, I have been in such a funk! It seems like I am exhausted, there is always something on my mind to figure out and of course a dozen things that I always need to do. Maybe it is just this time of the year? The weather has even been amazing (hello 65 degrees!), and my mood still hasn’t been lifted lately. I am hoping with welcoming February a couple of days ago, and the impending visit by a few of my friends coming up, I am able to to turn it around!

I decided to set a goal for myself though on a favorite pastime of mine. You see, I used to LOVE reading. No, I mean really, you never saw me without a book in my hand, I purposely carried an extra large purse just to fit the book in there with me at all times, and I would read over doing just about anything. Then, I guess life started to pick up and change a little bit. Unfortunately, I have been unable to truly get into reading the last year and a half like I wanted. On top of that, when I could, I would go into such a deep book hangover as I like to call it, I couldn’t come out of it to even consider picking up another book for weeks! Then I would finally consider it, maybe even purchase one, and either I would get overwhelmingly busy, or the book wasn’t good, or as much as I hate to admit it- sometimes I would just get too caught up in electronics and my phone. I believe I only finished maybe 2 or 3 books all of last year! (And before you ask, yes I have the Kindle App and do read on that from time to time – Shoutout to my best friend, Kylee for allowing me to share with her!) But, I started this year desperate to make a change in this habit. So, I am starting small (for me anyways), and setting the goal of finishing one book a month. Some might say that is totally awesome, some others who know me might say “That is all!?”…. but, yes. 1 book a month, for 12 months. I can do more if I feel up to it…. but that book must be finished by the beginning of the next month so I can start a new book for that month. And this way, it doesn’t count towards my goal of 12 books, and it doesn’t get in the way or get me off track. Here is to hoping for success with this! Each month I will list the book(s) I read, and give a very brief opinion on it.

January

In The Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

in-the-unlikely-event-cover-244

Snyopsis: In 1987, Miri Ammerman returns to her hometown of Elizabeth, New Jersey, to attend a commemoration of the worst year of her life.

Thirty-five years earlier, when Miri was fifteen, and in love for the first time, a succession of airplanes fell from the sky, leaving a community reeling. Against this backdrop of actual events that Blume experienced in the early 1950s, when airline travel was new and exciting and everyone dreamed of going somewhere, Judy Blume imagines and weaves together a haunting story of three generations of families, friends, and strangers, whose lives are profoundly changed by these disasters. (FYI: Synopsis taken from Goodreads because well, they are pros at this compared to me.)

Opinion: Okay, let me first say, I was SO excited to begin reading this. This book is what sort of got me determined to start reading again. It was the first book in about a year that I would say actually sparked my attention (outside of Nicholas Sparks and that whole Advanced Copy of his book thing I lucked out on last year- doesn’t count!). I have a soft spot for Judy Blume but then again, what woman my age doesn’t? Heck, what woman that read at all as an adolescent doesn’t?! Not to mention, I was expecting to be a little bias because well, I love Summer Sisters. But, I truly wasn’t bias at all! In fact, maybe I was harsh on it? Maybe I wasn’t… I don’t know, if you read it, let me know what you think and then I will decide. Ultimately, I just didn’t love it. It was okay. It just didn’t keep me wanting to read it, it wasn’t a page turner that I expected. It was sold as an adult novel, and to some extent, it was. But, I also felt like I expected more adult, less juvenile-esque (is that a word even?). Honestly, the characters! Oh the amount of characters amazed me! I mean, somehow I managed after a little while to keep them all straight, but I would be lying if I didn’t say I thought it was just too much. It honestly took me a good couple hundred pages to begin to actually get into it and I truly don’t usually give a book THAT long. But, when I set my mind to something… Anyways, the POV switches between so many characters it all tends to get jumbled at first. There was less emotion and feeling than I expected given the storyline, and it just… fell… flat. I hate to say it, I really do. It got better towards the end, interest spiked a little more, but it should NOT have taken that long. The details were great, the story telling was even good, but for some reason the story was just a hard one to grasp. On to the next book I happily go!

Last weekend, Adam and I actually went out for dinner with another couple! It was a first for us since moving. Okay, technically, that is a lie, we didn’t go “out” we went to their house for dinner. But, it was still something new for us to experience as we really don’t know anyone and all of our friends live hundreds of miles away. We joined my coworker, Adam (ha!) and his wife Lauren at their new home and had dinner and spent some time together just hanging out. It was a nice change to our normal Friday night.

So, before I wrap this up, does anyone else have any books they have recently read that they really like? I will gladly take suggestions! I have this month’s picked out and that is it so far. Or should I ask if you have anything to suggest NOT reading? I appreciate not wasting my time and money on books that will be no good. šŸ™‚

On another note, I actually got a request for something to be featured in my blog again! (no joke!) -More recipes! šŸ™‚ I admit, I don’t know if anyone else actually reads or uses them, but I might as well post some right? So, with that said, you can expect a post coming in the next day or two highlight a few new things to try out!

Leave a Reply

