Flying by!

Wow! It has actually been a fairly busy week and a half here! I can’t believe there is only a week left in March even. Normally, I would be begging for it to hurry up and get over with because in Northwest Indiana, the weather is way more temperamental than here in Missouri. Still temperamental, just not near as extreme levels of cold- but more extreme warm temps. Which is always good news for us, the warm weather coupled with the time change and longer daylight we have been getting has been good for me to feel a little more motivated in areas of life. Still in search of even more motivation, because I am always feeling like my need to do list and my want to do list is never ending- but hey, I’ll take these small improvements March already brought us!

Adam has been in his new job for a couple of weeks now. He seems to enjoy it too, which I am happy to see. I think it is different than anything he has done before, but that could be a good thing too. Besides, he is living up to his nickname from my brother now, Big Fancy, because he is all fancy with the company vehicle and phone and business cards and all that jazz. It makes me happy to see him happy with it. And who  knew irrigation was so technical and there was so much to learn?! I mean seriously, I read some of the stuff he brings home and it is way more technical than I ever really considered it being so kudos to him for understanding and successfully doing this job because I look at something and find myself saying “yeah… I have no idea…” 🙂

10012602_898038560313808_1400371079_n(1)

Chilly day at the zoo

We had company last weekend! Tam and the girls came to visit for the weekend and even if it was a quick trip, it was still nice to have them there. I don’t see them nearly as often as I would like, so a couple days together did some good! Of course whenever we have company it seems the 75 degree days hurry up and leave and the 45 degree days come in. Nevertheless, we didn’t let that stop us. We went to the zoo (yes, another trip to the zoo- and we STILL have yet to see the whole thing! That place is huge!) and then the St. Louis Science Center. It was so fun! I already knew that we enjoyed the zoo because well, we are animal lovers and always enjoy zoos, plus we had been there already but only saw a smaller other section before leaving. But the science center surprised me. I had a feeling I would like it, and I had a feeling the older two of the girls would enjoy themselves there too as it was a lot of interaction, and I am happy I was right! It surprised me that the littlest liked it as much as they did, but I guess when there are all kinds of things to play with and not worry about breaking- what is not to love!? (Bonus! Both places are free to go to here for anyone) I kind of did not like science all that much in high school. Okay, that is lie… I actually did like it depending on the subject and-basically just until Chemistry was introduced and then I was miserable. (Rest easy Mrs. Keller, I always enjoyed your class quite a bit!!)So walking around the science center was interesting to me because I could see it all from an adults eyes. I had went to the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago multiple times since high school, and I enjoyed that as well… but, here in St. Louis it is just way more interactive, and I felt like you learn more too. We did math puzzles (man, Mr. Gappa would be SHOCKED to know I did math willingly!), extracted bones, extracted DNA, various science experiments, learned about the different eras on Earth, etc. I actually can’t wait to go back!

Aside from that, I have just been busy getting prepared for my best friends bridal shower and Easter- both this weekend. That sure does keep a girl busy! I am so excited to see her, since this is longest we have went without seeing each other since like… we were 19 and in our freshman year of college. Luckily, we have a pretty close relationship and it is pretty easy for us to always make sure to stay in touch and talk almost every day. But, there is still nothing like actually seeing each other for the first time in a while- and to celebrate such an awesome thing makes it all the sweeter! I can’t give too much away just yet, everything has been kept a surprise to her basically so far and I don’t want to ruin it with just a few days to go! But, I can’t wait to share everything next week! 🙂

12826091_974138482671084_388707798_n

Just another cloudy hike in Missouri

In other news, Adam and I have started going on hikes a little more often through the conservation areas down here. There is literally SO much history, so much wildlife and endless amounts of hiking and walking trails that with all this nice weather we get- we might as well take advantage of it, right? I am also going to attempt to get back in the habit of us having a date night every so often. I have realized since moving here, we don’t do that too often. Sure, we go on a hike, or we go grocery shopping together, run errands, order take out, very randomly go to a quick dinner down the road… things like that… but we don’t do much in the way of date nights. I want to get more creative with it too though and not just rely on my usual dinner and a movie, or just movie, or just dinner. I mean, I LOVE doing that, but sometimes it is nice to change it up a bit. As always, I am open to ideas?! The opportunities out here are pretty endless so if you suggest it, I am sure I could find a way to make it work. That is one of the things that never gets old living in such a big area now… that. and take out. 🙂

11378988_784733728326450_1229459102_n

BIG happy anniversary wishes to my parents. I love you guys so much!

Leave a Reply

